whole30 day #22

Today hasn’t been the best. Sorry to be blunt, and a bit of a downer, but I caught whatever stomach bug Brody had and it wasn’t pretty. I didn’t eat much today. I had a couple pieces of apple at breakfast, then at lunch I ate a banana. That’s all my stomach could handle. I was able to take a nap, and after I woke up, I felt a little bit better. I forced myself to make my planned dinner, and I really feel much better now. Hopefully it stays this way, because I don’t have time to be sick. My day is full tomorrow. Anyhow, here’s what I had for dinner…and I’m happy I had soup planned, because it really hit the spot.

Dinner: Chicken Tortilla-less Soup.

_MG_000500

This was really yummy. It was spicy and creamy, and was so warm and cozy feeling. Just what I needed. I got the recipe here Chicken Tortilla-less Soup. I didn’t follow it exactly. I didn’t add a poblano pepper, (mostly because they didn’t have one at my normal grocery store, and I didn’t want to go searching for one), and I came up with my own spice mixture and baked the chicken the same way I do my original baked chicken. By browning it on the stove first and then finishing it up in the oven. If you’re interested in the spice mixture I used, here it is…

1 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. cumin

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. paprika

1/2 tsp. onion powder

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 tsp. ground coriander

dash of cayenne pepper

The other thing I thought I’d mention is that we blended up the veggies a bit in the blender before adding the chicken. In the recipe she blends half of the veggie mixture, but we went ahead and did all of it. We left it a bit chunky, but I think blending all of it a few pulses gave it a more creamy texture. I also let it boil on the stove with the chicken for about 40 minutes afterward before eating. It really helped meld all the flavors together. I hope you enjoy!

Tayler

Leave a Reply

